top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackSquare

Check Out This Jazz Fusion Zelda's Lullaby Cover!


 


Hey, friends! JackSquare here, and in this post I want to share my jazz fusion cover of Zelda's Lullaby! Zelda's Lullaby is a classic Zelda tune, featured in multiple games in the series. It was originally used in a Link to the Past, as both the tracks Princess Zelda's Rescue and Meeting the Maidens. For this Zelda cover, I decided to work in the jazz fusion pocket. The instrumentation features guitars, keys, and banjo! Zelda on the banjo is something I've explored in other videos. Let's talk about some of the musical elements!


Zelda's Lullaby is originally in a 3/4 time signature, but for this cover I decided to adjust it to 4/4. This is a trick that Victor Wooten used in his version of Amazing Grace, and when done correctly it can add a jazzy vibe to any track! With the foundation of an altered beat, I then started reworking the chords. This is a degree of tonal contrast. Finally, a cast of clean lead, banjo, piano, electric keys, organ, and overdriven lead carry us through the tune. Personally, I feel like, if Zelda was an anime, this would be the closing song!


On personal note, it was exciting getting to record this song. The Yamaha electric that I am using was my first electric guitar, and up until recently it had been in a state of disrepair. After ordering a part on Amazon and a little TLC, I was able to bring it back into working order. My bass had also stopped working, but I was able to figuring out what was wrong (a broken wire), and complete a DIY fix! I'm not particularly handy with projects, so if I can do it, you can too!


Thanks for reading and watching! I have lots of other covers on my channel, so be sure to check them out! Subscribe so that you don't miss more videos, and I'll catch you in the next one!


-JackSquare


 


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page