top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackSquare

Check out this folk rock cover of "Edge of Night!"


 


 

The Lord of the Rings trilogy is a cinematic masterpiece on all fronts. The cast, the source material, and so many other factors come together in the perfect storm that is the LotR films. The soundtrack is no exception. So many of the most memorable scenes are punctuated by a perfect score.


One of my favorite melodies from the trilogy is "Edge of Night," composed on performed by Billy Boyd. The hauntingly beautiful melody provides tonal tension its scene (no spoilers here in case you still haven't seen the films or read the books!). I still remember the first time I heard it!


Well before I started working on covers for my YouTube channel, I stumbled onto an idea for an arrangement of Pippin's song. The outline for my cover relied on an altered rhythm and opening tunings. At that time, I filed it away for a later date.


Then I tackled my cover of Song of Time from the Legend of Zelda. The stars aligned, and I knew it was time to dust off my plans for "Edge of Night." Frankly, I'm glad that I waited on tackling this one, because by this point I had started to bring in the banjo to some of my recordings! I feel like it adds a well-needed layer to this more lively rendition of "Edge of Night." Perhaps this is what Pippin's song would sound like if sung at the Green Dragon after a few pints!


The moral of the story? Sometimes it's ok to put those good ideas on hold! Let them simmer for a while, but then don't be afraid to strike when the iron is hot! I'm certainly glad that I did!


-JackSquare

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page